Colors of India
Colors of IndiaColors of India
Read for information on largest Indian physiographic division

Largest Physiographic Unit of India

India is divided into five physiographic divisions. These are:
  • The Himalayan Mountains
  • The Great Plains of North India
  • The Peninsular Plateau
  • The Coastal Plains
  • The Islands
Among these five physiographic units, The Peninsular Plateau is the largest physiographic unit of India. The entire plateau measures about 1,600 km in the north-south and 1400 km in east-west direction. It covers a total area of about 16 lakh sq km which is about half of the total land area of the country. The Peninsular Plateau is roughly triangular in shape with base coinciding with the southern edge of the great plain of North India and its apex is formed by Kanyakumari in the southern extremity.

Copyright © Colors of India